Day 3 feedback: I wish combat was less grinding and more followable

• So, I've been playing since Saturday, now up to level 6. Had my first duel today -- turns out you have to be Level 6, not 5, to duel. And I've fought a lot of monsters.

Now, this game is the sort of game that I've wanted to see developed most of my life. Indeed, it's got the beginnings of the kind of game that I had hoped Ingress would be. I'm a software engineer myself, so I know what it is like to be in alpha and to have customers kibitzing on not-yet-done stuff, so I'm definitely trying to temper my expectations. But there's a few aspects of combat that I hope could be revisited and revised because as it stands, combat is pretty boring.

You have 10 seconds to trace 5 slots worth of spells. Up through level 6, I have only two gestures, so I have only two spells, one attack and one shield. The attack takes 2 slots, the shield takes 1. That means pretty much every turn I do 2 attacks and 1 shield. I usually don't do the shield because the device doesn't recognize me drawing a circle 9 times out of 10, but that's a bug level complaint. Even if it did recognize my circle, I'd be doing the same thing over and over and over.

It doesn't matter what my opponent does. I only have that one response. So there's no tactics or anything, just hoping that my stats are better than my opponent's stats. It would help a lot if the low level character had a third symbol and access to a third spell, thereby allowing me to mix things up a bit. I assume more gestures are unlocked at higher levels, but I really think that third gesture should come around level 4, definitely level 5. It's become a pretty serious grind at this point.